This is a great article about being Muslim and a Feminist.

auburnrhyme

Feminism & The Modern Muslim woman

I could write about this very topic every day for the next year and it still would not be enough.

Not all feminists think or act the same.

Well isn’t that news. It might surprise you to hear that it is my religion which has inspired me to want to speak up against the subordination of women. I know it’s hard to believe whilst living in a world painted with dominant western culture that a religion being tarnished as barbaric and a threat to modern civilisation was one of the first to recognise inequality and grant women with rights.

I’m not here to list a dozen ways that Islam liberated Muslim women, nor point out that Muslim women were emancipated from being the property of men fourteen hundred years before women in the west saw any light of such rights. All that I…

View original post 619 more words

